Additive Manufacturing in Construction
AMC TRR 277

Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of C04

Integrating Digital Design and Additive Manufacturing through BIM-Based Decision Support and Digital Twin Methods [07.06.2024] Li, Chao; doctoral researcher, chao1.li@tum.de Petzold, Frank; PL, petzold@tum.de Technical University of Munich, TUM School of Engineering and Design, Chair of Architectural Informatics     Project C04-WP1 aims to conceive a design decision support system (DDSS) to integrate AM technologies in the early design phase. Project C04 has formalized a ontology-based knowledge base, enabling analysis of AM for building design regarding geometric and functional conformity. …

Published on 10. June 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of C03

Integration of Passive and Active Functions in Additively Manufactured Construction Elements [29.05.2024] Auer, Thomas; PL, thomas.auer@tum.de * Briels, David; doctoral researcher, david.briels@tum.de * Nouman, Ahmad; doctoral researcher, ahmad.nouman@tum.de * * Technical University of Munich, TUM School of Engineering and Design, Chair of Building Technology and Climate Responsive Design   In engineering advancements, Additive Manufacturing in Construction (AMC) represents a significant paradigm shift. To fully harness the capabilities of AMC, our project, C03, is dedicated to fundamentally transforming the design of …

Published on 8. June 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A04

Integrated Additive Manufacturing Processes for Reinforced Shotcrete 3D Printing (SC3DP) Elements with Precise Surface Quality [24.05.2024] Böhler, David1; doctoral researcher, d.boehler@ibmb.tu-bs.de Rudolph, Jennifer1; doctoral researcher, j.rudolph@ibmb.tu-bs.de Freund, Niklas1; doctoral researcher, n.freund@ibmb.tu-bs.de Lowke, Dirk2; project leader, lowke@tum.de 1TU Braunschweig, Institute of Building Materials and Concrete Construction and Fire Safety (iBMB) 2TU Munich, Department of Materials Engineering     Main Goal Project A04 investigates cooperative Additive Manufacturing (AM) processes based on Shotcrete 3D Printing (SC3DP). The aim of this project is a …

Published on 30. May 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A02

Particle-Bed 3D Printing by Selective Cement Paste Intrusion (SPI) – Particle Surface Functionalisation, Particle Synthesis and Integration of WAAM Reinforcement [02.05.2024] Riegger, Felix; Doctoral researcher;   Felix.Riegger@iwb.tum.de Baehr, Siegfried; Head of the research group;  Siegfried.Baehr@iwb.tum.de All: Technical University of Munich, Institute for Machine Tools and Industrial Management   Main Goal To enable selective paste intrusion (SPI) for practical applications, the inclusion of reinforcement is mandatory. The focus of the first funding period was set on implementing reinforcements in SPI parts by …

Published on 17. May 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of B05

Principles of Mobile Robotics for Additive Manufacturing in Construction [02.05.2024] Dielemans, Gido; PhD Researcher, gido.dielemans@tum.de Technical University of Munich, TT Professorship of Digital Fabrication.   Main Goal InjeIn this research, we investigate the deployment of mobile robots in construction scenarios for the additive manufacturing of building components through deposition-based 3D printing techniques. Our objective is to enhance on-site precision by enabling these robots to adjust their 3D printing operations autonomously in response to their immediate environment, facilitating the in-situ fabrication …

Published on 7. May 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A09

Injection 3D Concrete Printing (I3DCP) – Material Efficient Lightweight Reinforced Concrete Structures based on Spatially Complex Strut-and-Tie Models [20.04.2024] Mai, Inka, Project leader, mai@tu-berlin.de, TU Berlin, institute of civil engineering, chair of robot assisted manufacturing of the built environment.     Main Goal Injection 3D Concrete Printing (I3DCP) is a new additive manufacturing process where a fluid of material A is robotically injected into another fluid of another material B. The role of material B is to support material A …

Published on 30. April 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of C06

Integration of Additive Manufacturing into a Cyber-Physical Construction System [16.04.2024] Placzek, Gerrit; Doctoral researcher, g.placzek@tu-braunschweig.de, Schwerdtner, Patrick; Project Leader, patrick.schwerdtner@tu-braunschweig.de both: TU Braunschweig, IBB     Main Goal The integration of additive manufacturing into construction requires an interdisciplinary approach. The different competences of the team – digital fabrication in architecture (Hack), geodesy and photogrammetry (Gerke) and construction management (Schwerdtner) – lead to research from diverse perspectives on the various scalar levels of construction to be viewed holistically: component, building and …

Published on 19. April 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A07

Wire Arc Additive Manufacturing (WAAM) of High Strength and Individualized Steel Components [05.04.2024] Jurke, Florian; Research Assistant, florian.jurke@mb.tu-chemnitz.de Kevin Hoefer, Research Assistant, kevin.hoefer@mb.tu-chemnitz.de Hensel, Jonas; Project Leader, jonas.hensel@mb.tu-chemnitz.de   Main Goal A07 focuses on understanding the interaction between DED-arc components and existing structures, developing load-specific strengthening solutions and designing welding strategies. A design framework will incorporate manufacturing constraints and optimization tools for efficient structural components. Additionally, online-process control will be implemented to compensate deviations in component geometry and temperature within …

Published on 8. April 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A06

Laser Powder-Bed Fusion (LPBF) of Steel Elements for Construction – Basics of Design and Mechanical Resilience [19.03.2024] Blankenhagen, Jakob; doctoral researcher; Jakob.blankenhagen@tum.de Technical University of Munich, Chair of Metal Structures   Wenzler, David; doctoral researcher; david.wenzler@tum.de Technical University of Munich, Institute for Machine Tools and Industrial Management       Summary  The project A06 aims to develop a methodology for producing safe and functional structural steel elements for construction using LPBF. This involves integrating complex LPBF parts into large-scale structures. …

Published on 20. March 2024
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A05

Integration of Individualized Prefabricated Fibre Reinforcement in Additive Manufacturing with Concrete [13.03.2024] Gantner, Stefan; Scientific Researcher, stefan.gantner@tu-bs.de Hack, Norman; Project Leader, n.hack@tu-braunschweig.de Collaboration: Amiri, Fatemeh; Scientific Researcher, fatemeh.amiri@tu-braunschweig.de all: TU BS, Institute of Structural Design (ITE)     Main Goal Cement-based additive manufacturing techniques need to be enhanced by the ability of integrating reinforcement, in order to fulfil requirements of construction. This project focuses on non-metallic continuous fibre reinforcement, which is not only corrosion resistant but also flexible in handling. …

Published on 13. March 2024
Category: Research Summary Report
WordPress Lightbox