Additive Manufacturing in Construction
AMC TRR 277

Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A01

Particle bed 3D printing by selective cement activation: Particle surface functionalization, particle bed compaction and reinforcement integration [03.11.2023] Herding, Friedrich; Researcher, f.herding@ibmb.tu-bs.de Lowke, Dirk; Project leader, lowke@tum.de TU Braunschweig, Institute of Building Materials, Concrete Construction and Fire Safety / Technical University of Munich, Department of Materials Engineering Our main research objective is the fundamental understanding of the material-process interactions in particle bed 3D printing (PB3DP) by Selective Cement Activation (SCA). This will allow for the manufacturing of concrete elements with …

Published on 8. November 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A02

Particle-Bed 3D Printing by Selective Cement Paste Intrusion (SPI) – Particle Surface Functionalisation, Particle Synthesis and Integration of WAAM Reinforcement [06.10.2023] Hamilton, Leigh Duncan; Researcher; Leigh-Duncan.Hamilton@tu-braunschweig.de Zetzener, Harald; Leading researcher H.Zetzener@tu-braunschweig.de Kwade, Arno; Project leader A.Kwade@tu-braunschweig.de All: TU Braunschweig, Institute for Particle Technology   Our main goal within project A02 is to unite two additive manufacturing (AM) processes, thereby, creating a hybrid AM process for structural concrete. The foundation of A02 is formed around the concrete 3D printing process Selective …

Published on 10. October 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A05

Integration of Individualized Prefabricated Fibre Reinforcement in Additive Manufacturing with Concrete [29.09.2023] Rothe, Tom; Doctoral researcher, t.rothe@tu-braunschweig.de, TU Braunschweig, Institute of Mechanics and Adaptronics (IMA)   Hühne, Christian; Project Leader, Christian.Huehne@tu-braunschweig.de, TU Braunschweig, Institute of Mechanics and Adaptronics (IMA)   Fig 2: Robotic integration of reinforcement into the column of the Shelltonics demonstrator The individual integration of fibre reinforcement into large concrete components produced by Additive Manufacturing allows new design freedoms and reduces concrete consumption due to reduced concrete cover. …

Published on 2. October 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A04

Integrated Additive Manufacturing Processes for Reinforced Shotcrete 3D Printing (SC3DP) Elements with Precise Surface Quality [30.09.2023] David, Martin; Doctoral Researcher, m.david@tu-braunschweig.de, TU Braunschweig, Institute for Machine Tools and Production Technology (IWF)   Summary and Current state of research Project A04 aims to investigate cooperative Additive Manufacturing (AM) processes based on Shotcrete 3D Printing (SC3DP) for the production of material-efficient, force-optimised, reinforced, load-bearing concrete components with precise surface quality and geometrical precision. The goal is to produce large-scale concrete elements using …

Published on 30. September 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A06

Laser Powder-Bed Fusion (LPBF) of Steel Elements for Construction – Basics of Design and Mechanical Resilience [22.09.2023] Wenzler, David; doctoral researcher; david.wenzler@tum.de Technical University of Munich, Institute for Machine Tools and Industrial Management Diller, Johannes; doctoral researcher; johannes.diller@tum.de, Siebert, Dorina; doctoral researcher; dorina.siebert@tum.de Technical University of Munich, Chair of Metal Structures   Project The project A06 aims to explore and evaluate the factors influencing the manufacturing of safe and durable structural steel elements by laser powder-bed fusion (LPBF). Thereby, the …

Published on 28. September 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A07

Wire and Arc Additive Manufacturing (WAAM) of Complex Individualized Steel Components [08.09.2023] Jahns, Hendrik; Doctoral researcher; h.jahns@stahlbau.tu-braunschweig.de Unglaub, Julian; Principle Investigator j.unglaub@stahlbau.tu-braunschweig.de Thiele, Klaus; Principle Investigator k.thiele@stahlbau.tu-braunschweig.de Institute of Steel Structures Technische Universität Braunschweig     Project – main goal In project A07 the design, manufacturing and mechanical properties of complex individualized WAAM steel nodes for use in construction is investigated. A new method is developed to design force flow optimized steel nodes as connectors between semi-finished parts and anchorage …

Published on 12. September 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of A08

Structural Timber by Individual Layer Fabrication (ILF) [01.09.2023] Asshoff, Carsten; Doctoral researcher; carsten.asshoff@wki.fraunhofer.de Fraunhofer Institute for Wood Research Wilhelm-Klauditz-Institut WKI     Main goal The main goal of the project ’A08 – Structural Timber by Individual Layer Fabrication (ILF)’ is to develop a process to additively manufacture large-scale, wood composite objects with a maximum content of wood material and strength values suited for applications in construction. In the course of the project multiple process variants and material combinations are explored. …

Published on 1. September 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of B04

Process Control and Adaptive Path Planning for Additive Manufacturing Processes Based on Industrial Robots with an Extended Degree of Freedom [26.08.2023] Ekanayaka, Virama; Doctoral researcher, v.ekanayaka@tu-braunschweig.de, TU Braunschweig, Institute of Machine Tools and Production Technology (IWF) Hürkamp, André; Project Leader, a.huerkamp@tu-braunschweig.de, TU Braunschweig, Institute of Machine Tools and Production Technology (IWF)   Main goal The integration of robot-guided additive manufacturing in the construction industry increases the degree of automation and can thus lead to an increased productivity and increased component …

Published on 26. August 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of C03

Integration of Passive and Active Functions in Additively Manufactured Construction Elements [25.08.2023] Auer, Thomas; PL, thomas.auer@tum.de * Briels, David; doctoral researcher, david.briels@tum.de * Nouman, Ahmad; doctoral researcher, ahmad.nouman@tum.de * all: Technical University of Munich, TUM School of Engineering and Design, Chair of Building Technology and Climate Responsive Design   Main goal To fully leverage the potential of additive manufacturing (AM) processes explored within the AMC, a fundamental shift in the design of building elements is necessary. Through the capabilities of …

Published on 25. August 2023
Category: Research Summary Report

Research Summary Report of C06

Integration of Additive Manufacturing in the Construction Process [18.08.2023] Mawas, Karam; Doctoral researcher, k.mawas@tu-braunschweig.de Gerke, Markus; Project leader, m.gerke@tu-braunschweig.de Maboudi, Mehdi; Associated scientist, m.maboudi@tu-braunschweig.de all: TU Braunschweig, Institute of Geodesy and Photogrammetry (IGP)   Main goal To guarantee adherence to a resilient process and faithful realization of the designed model in the printed object, it is essential to implement ongoing and automated data capture and process inspection. Additionally, quality control plays a pivotal role in enabling the seamless integration of …

Published on 22. August 2023
Category: Research Summary Report
WordPress Lightbox